FrontNationNewsTop Stories

8 Rajya Sabha members suspended for disorderly behaviour over farm bills

With the ruckus caused by the opposition members over the suspension of 8 MP’s the Rajya Sabha was on Monday adjourned for the day.

The suspended were notable names including TMC leader Derek O’Brien and Sanjay Singh of APP for the remaining monsoon session because of their disorderly and disruptive behavior while the farm bills were passed.

The proceedings taken by the House were almost halted as it could not take up any legislative business.

Earlier in the day, during the Zero hour some members managed to raise their issues.

Five adjournments were witnessed by the House due to the continual protest by some opposition members over the suspension of members.

Resuming the house at 12, Bhubnashwer Kalita who was on the chair, asked the suspended members to leave the house, while urging others to maintain decorum.

However the refusal of the opposition members to move compelled the Chair to adjourn the House for the day.

Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu termed the behavior of the members while passing bills on Sunday as “very unfortunate, unacceptable and condemnable” and as one that has “tarnished” the image of Parliament, particularly the House of Elders.

– Carolyn Ravi, NMTV News.



NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button