FrontMumbaiNewsTop Stories

BJP wins Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation with majority

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has emerged as the single largest party in the Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation (MBMC) civic polls, leaving behind their former ally Shiv Sena.

The two parties had contested the polls independently.

The BJP won 61 of the 95 seats. In the 2012 election, the party had won only half the number of seats. Shiv Sena won 22 seats compared to its 14 seats in 2012. The Congress got 10 seats, nine less than what they got in 2012.

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) did not win any seats this time.

In the 2012 election, NCP was the second largest party with 26 seats.

The Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) party and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) did not win any seats. In 2012, BVA had three corporators and MNS one.

BJP workers celebrated with victory rallies and fireworks. Among the BJP winners are MBMC mayor Geeta Jain and ladies bar owner Ganesh Shetty. The term of the existing civic house ends on August 27. The house was ruled by the BJP-Sena combine.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button