FrontMumbaiNavi MumbaiTop StoriesVideo

Eknath Shinde powers Rajan Vichare & Shrikant Shinde to win from Thane & Kalyan ?

#EknathShinde #RajanVichare #ShrikantShinde #Thane #Kalyan #LokSabha2019 #Results #Voting

Even the Ganesh Naik’s charisma and influence as a mass leader seems to have not worked in favour of NCP changing the course of results in Thane and Kalyan. The expectations were more from Thane constituency that is inclusive of Navi Mumbai, a Ganesh Naik stronghold. Thane Lok Sabha constituency covers : Mira Bhayandar, Kopri-Pachpakhadi, Ovala-Majiwada, Thane, Airoli and Belapur. The main showdown here was between NCP’s Anand Paranjape and Shiv Sena’s Rajan Vichare. A dismal voter turnout of 49.95% in Thane has started a debate on whether the Shiv Sena bastion will be retained or broken but a closer look makes it clear that Rajan Vichare will win the constituency for a second consecutive term.

On the other hand in Kalyan, as per the final figures released by the Election Commission of India, Kalyan recorded the lowest turnout of voters at 45.28 per cent. The general belief is that a low turnout benefits the ruling party. Here are the reasons that impact the results in favour of Rajan Vichare in Thane and Dr Srikant Shinde in Kalyan:

• In 5 years of being Thane Guardian Minister, Eknath Shinde has increased strength of Shiv Sena and its reach among citizens of Thane and Kalyan Lok Sabha constituencies.
• On voting day, urban areas voting in both Thane and Kalyan Lok Sabha constituencies registered more voting percentage thereby leading to Sena camps already celebrating their victories.
• Moreover, the Assembly segment-wise voter turnouts revealed better figures in areas like Thane City, Kopri-Panchpakhadi and Mira-Bhayander areas, where the Sena-BJP has a strong influence.
• In Thane constituency, Navi Mumbai disappointed in terms of voting percentage. Despite going all out and both former Minister Ganesh Naik and Airoli MLA Sandeep Naik’s personal presence, the voting in areas like in Airoli with 43.48% and Belapur with 48.83% are unimpressive.
• Mira Bhayander, where NCP Supremo Sharad Pawar rallied to change the tide in favour of Anand Paranjpe, too failed as voters patterns continued to be against NCP and in favour of the saffron alliance.
• Thane City assembly constituency saw the maximum voting percentage of 56.58%, followed by 53.12% in Kopri-Panchpakhadi and 52.68% in Ovala Majiwada, which again works in the favour of the saffron alliance.
• The opposition was not successful in bringing people out of their homes in Thane and Navi Mumbai both.
• The low turnout in areas like Kalwa-Mumbra and Ulhasnagar, where the sitting MLA Jitendra Awhad is from the NCP, has made the election in this constituency a one-sided affair.
• The Prime Minister Narendra Modi factors have worked strongly in favour of both the candidates in Kalyan and Thane. This is because, even though Thane has always been Sena’s bastion, the emerging population of cosmopolitan voters over the decade has seen a shift of numbers in favour of BJP.

Looking at these factors, Shiv Sena candidates Rajan Vichare and Shrikant Shinde seem to be set for easy victories here in Thane and Kalyan. It stamps the fact that Eknath Shinde as Minister and mass leader has worked days and night to keep the Shiv Sena fortress safe and secure against all the Opposition by sheer public works and connectivity. Zeba Warsia – NMTV News.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button