FrontMumbaiNationNewsTop Stories

Ganesh Naik all set to rewrite history with record margin victory ?

#GaneshNaik #AssemblyElections2019 #AiroliRecordMargin

The title “mass leader” and “Loknete” to Ganesh Naik has been given for a reason. And that is he truly earned it as he has been the top Agri leader of Maharashtra and the most popular political name in cities of Thane, Navi Mumbai, Mira Bhayander and nearby areas. This was endorsed by his gigantic victories in two assembly elections that has made him Maharashtra’s Number #1 rank holder in biggest victory margins.

Among those who have created a record in victory margins in assembly elections in Maharashtra’s history, the top two ranks are held by Ganesh Naik. In 1995 Ganesh Naik, then a NCP candidate from Belapur constituency, defeated Congress candidate Muzaffar Hussain to register the biggest victory margin of 1, 09, 001 votes. And then in 2004, he broke his own record as the NCP candidate and defeated Shiv Sena’s Sitaram Bhoir by a record margin of 1, 18, 276 votes.

As of today, Ganesh Naik continues to hold the first two ranks for biggest margins in Maharashtra followed by Congress’s Ashok Chavan who stands at rank #3 with 1, 07, 503 votes margin victory from Bhokar in 2009 assembly polls. The other stalwarts who have failed to beat his record include, Udayanraje Bhosale who ranks at #4 with 1, 05, 778, Vijaysinh Mohite Patil who ranks at #5 with 1, 04, 712 and Ajit Pawar who ranks #6 with 1, 02, 797 margin win from Baramati in 2009.

Ganesh Naik had registered both the record victories before Belapur constituency was delimited into five smaller constituencies in the Maharashtra Assembly polls of 2009. Prior to 2009, Belapur constituency was the largest assembly segment in the country with 889,780 voters. It stretched from Navi Mumbai in the east to Mira-Bhayander in the north. It was part of the Thane Lok Sabha constituency and had 505,661 male voters and 384,119 female voters before it was broken down to five assembly constituencies viz – Mira Bhayander, Ovla Majiwada, Airoli, Belapur, Kalwa Mumbra. In 2014, Ganesh Naik was defeat by BJP candidate Manda Mhatre in Belapur constituency and now he is fighting to come back to power as the BJP candidate from Airoli constituency. Airoli constituency has :

Total Voters : 4 Lacs 61 Thousand 349
Male : 2 Lacs 63 Thousand 781
Female : 1 Lac 97 Thousand 536
Transgenders : 32

The shifting of loyalty from NCP to BJP has boosted chances of not just a victory, but one with record margin for Ganesh Naik as in BJP he has the power of Brand NaMo to back him and as also a ready-made BJP and RSS cadre that works selflessly at grass root without coming in public.

Another first time for Ganesh Naik has been that – all the four Naiks – Sanjeev Naik, Sandeep Naik and Sagar Naik along with Ganesh Naik have concentrated and worked in one constituency of Airoli with Sandeep Naik taking the lead in formulating the election campaign strategy. Having won against the Modi wave from Airoli in 2014, Sandeep Naik now knows Airoli like the back of his hand and this gives further advantage to Ganesh Naik. NMTV had spoken to him about taking lead in Ganesh Naik’s campaign.

NMTV put forth the question about the Naiks power combined in Airoli constituency to Ganesh Naik after he cast his vote.

Another major factor in favour of Ganesh Naik is Sena strongman Vijay Chougule. Chougule enjoys support from Sena cadre across Airoli constituency and Chinchpada is his stronghold. And for the first time since last 3 major elections, Vijay Chougule is not up against the Naiks but with Ganesh Naik this time round. In his own words, Chinchpada will vote massively for Ganesh Naik.

These elections aren’t seen as a contest at all for two reasons : one that the NCP and Congress are the weakest they have been in any assembly polls and second Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis are carrying all of the elections on their shoulders, literally with little or no role of candidates and their merits. In the backdrop of this, in Airoli, Ganesh Naik has absolutely no formidable challenger against him from any party that makes these elections, perhaps the easiest for Ganesh Naik ever. Even the NCP has pitted Ganesh Shinde as the candidate against Ganesh Naik – who has never fought even a corporator election.

Now all eyes are on Ganesh Naik again – he has to prove to BJP his mettle and has to regain the faith of his own corporators and party men. Since winning elections is a credit that will go to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis – Ganesh Naik has to win with a massive record margin to prove to BJP why Ganesh Naik is called a “Lokneta” and what his capabilities are made off. #ZebaWarsia – NMTV News.



NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button