FrontNavi MumbaiNewsTop Stories

NCP all set to regain the next NMMC standing committee chairperson’s post ?

The NMMC standing committee chairperson’s post is much coveted, as it gives the winning party the keys to the treasury of one of the richest civic bodies in the state. The ruling party in NMMC, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) suffered a huge upset last year, after it lost to the Shiv Sena by one vote. Meera Patil, a Congress corporator, voted in favour of the Sena candidate Shivram Patil.
This year, however, the NCP is leaving no stone unturned to ensure that there is no repeat of the last year’s upset. The Shiv Sena on the other hand is confident of making it two in a row.
All eyes are again on Patil, a close associate of former Congress corporator Santosh Shetty. Sources claimed that Shetty was instrumental in swinging Patil’s vote in Sena’s favour last year.
The standing committee has 16 members and their tenure ends this month, owing to eight members who have completed two years in the body will retire. In the general body meeting scheduled for April 18, the retirement of these eight members is on the agenda. The retiring members are: NCP’s Jaywant Sutar, Prakash More, Vinod Mhatre, Sena’s standing committee chairperson Shivram Patil, Manohar Madhvi, Bharti Koli, Kashinath Pawar and Jagdish Gavte.
Commenting on the issue, a political pundit said, “There is talk of some big names being interested in becoming the chairperson of the powerful body, which has further heated up the political environment. If the Congress votes for the NCP, its candidate will sail through. However, if we witness an encore of last year, then there could be a tie and the winner will have to be decided via lottery. With reputation at stake, parties indulging in horse trading can’t be ruled out.”


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button