FrontNationNewsTop Stories

Nitish Kumar becomes the Lord of Bihar for the third time in succession

Nitish Kumar, often referred to as Chanakya of Bihar politics, lived up to the moniker when he surprisingly joined hands with arch rival RJD boss Lalu Prasad to script a third consecutive term for himself as Chief Minister after being bruised and bloodied in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

The Mahagathbandhan has won in a whopping 178 seats while the BJP won only 58Nitesh Kumar seats and other 7 seats .

It has been a massive victory for the Janata Dal United-Rashtriya Janata Dal-Congress Mahagathbandhan in Bihar Assembly elections. Even a high-decibel campaign by Prime Minister Narendra Modi could not stop the rout of Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance.

NDA had swept Bihar in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections winning 31 seats out of the 40 and was confident of decimating the Mahagathbandhan. But Bihar voters have given a decisive mandate in Mahagathbandhan’s favour and Nitish Kumar is all set to continue his reign as the chief minister.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button