FrontNavi MumbaiNewsTop Stories

NMMC Standing committee elections gets delayed due to collector’s transfer

The state ’s move to transfer the district collector of Raigad, Sheetal Ugle, to Pune has left the NMMC with no presiding officer to conduct the standing committee election.
Sources said that if there is a delay in the appointment of the new district collection, additional district collector DV Mallicknere could be directed by the Konkan commissioner to conduct the election. The election has to be held before the end of May.
With the transfer, even though the deadline set by the NMMC secretary for the election will end soon, the district collector has not declared a date for the polls. This is increasing tension among candidates who plan to contest it.
The tenure of the standing committee ended on May 1 and hence in April, eight of the 16 members were replaced. The date for the election of the chairman, however, is pending as the previous chairman Shivram Patil’s tenure too has ended.
This election is significant as both the Shiv Sena and the NCP are leaving no stone unturned to ensure victory of their candidate.
The Konkan Divisional Commissioner appointed Raigad district collector as the presiding officer for NMMC. Hence, all the elections in the civic body starting from ward committee to standing committee were conducted by the collector.
The NMMC secretary had submitted a report to Ugle asking him to complete the election process by May 9. The parties had been hoping that the collector will announce May 9 as the date of the election but Ugale was transferred before he could announce the date SENA, NCP TUSSLE The standing committee election is important as the Sena had upset the NCP by a single vote. The 16-member committee has 8 NCP members. Sena has 6, BJP 1 and Congress 1. There is a huge tug of war between the Shiv Sena and NCP to get the single Congress vote which proved decisive the last time round.
If the Sena succeeds, there will be a tie and the winner will be decided by a draw of lots. All eyes are on what former Congress corporator Santosh Shetty decides which will result in his associate Meera Patil voting accordingly.


NMTV was launched in the year 1999, and is Maharashtra only accredited 24-hour, 7-day-a-week local cable news station of Navi Mumbai airing news bulletins and programs in English, Hindi and Marathi. NMTV represents the state-of-the-art in local television news coverage, delivering on a commitment of responsible and community-oriented journalism on an around-the-clock basis.

Related Articles

Back to top button